Sara Falcone

Favourite Thing: Planning a new experiments: I like the excitement and the expectations of approaching something new



Univerity of Perugia (IT)


BVetMed, MSc in Veterinary Public Health

Work History:

University of Pretoria (RSA), MRC

Current Job:

PhD Student at the MRC-Harwell (Mammalian Genetics Unit)


Medical Research Council

Me and my work

Studying old mice to explore the ageing process

My Typical Day

In the lab carrying out experiments, in the office analysing data, in the animal house looking at the mice. Some days in a different order!!

What I'd do with the money

Run a forensic ‘Cluedo’ activity with students interested in STEM subjects; to use molecular biology techniques to unravel a mystery *cue dramatic music*

My Interview

How would you describe yourself in 3 words?

Curious, friendly, stubborn

Who is your favourite singer or band?

Hard to decide… maybe The Cure

What's your favourite food?

Pizza! Pizza! Pizza!

What is the most fun thing you've done?

I spent a month playing a horror video game with other 10 friends: we completed it 100%, woohoo team work!!!

What did you want to be after you left school?

I wanted to make documentaries for the National Geographic

Were you ever in trouble at school?

Nah, I was a good kid.

What was your favourite subject at school?

Biology, Art, Maths

What's the best thing you've done as a scientist?

Starting my PhD… but the best is yet to come

What or who inspired you to become a scientist?

I was working in a animal hospital during my last year of university when I realised I didn’t want to stop at curing diseases, I wanted to know how they worked!

If you weren't a scientist, what would you be?

Vet surgeon probably….

If you had 3 wishes for yourself what would they be? - be honest!

1. Be always happy 2. Be always healthy 3. Have enough money to work on what I like

Tell us a joke.

What do you get from a pampered cow? Spoiled milk *goes to hide*

Other stuff

Work photos: